Moominvalley is an award-winning Finnish-British animated family drama for TV created by Gutsy Animations, now in its third season. It’s an adaptation of the classic Moomin books and comics by writer-illustrator Tove Jansson and her brother Lars Jansson, and is created using new techniques in 3D CGI. The tremendously popular series is Finland's most expensive TV show ever, with a €20 million budget. In 2019, the series' first episode was the most ever watched program on Finnish national broadcaster Yle's streaming service, watched by 1 in 4 Finns. The series has so far been sold to 20 countries, and is available on Sky, Sky Kids and Now TV in the United Kingdom.

For the English language version, the voice actors include Taron Egerton (Moomintroll), Kate Winslet (Fillyjonk), Rosamund Pike (Moominmamma), Matt Berry (Moominpappa), Will Self (Muskrat), Jennifer Saunders (Mymble), Akiya Henry (Snorkmaiden), Richard Ayoade (The Ghost), Matt Lucas (Teety-Woo), Joe Wilkinson (The Hemulens), Edvin Endre (Snufkin), Bel Powley (Little My), Alison Steadman (Emma the Stage Rat) and Warwick Davis (Sniff).

The innovative animation is produced by an outstandingly talented team, including creative director and executive producer Marika Makaroff; Oscar®-winning director Steve Box; BAFTA®-winning producer John Woolley and Emmy®-winning writing duo Mark Huckerby and Nick Ostler

The score for the series is composed by Finnish musicians Pekka Kuusisto and Samuli Kosminen. Kuusisto's father, Ilkka Kuusisto previously composed a Moomin opera with Tove Jansson in 1974. Sony Music have the label's artists contribute original songs for each episode, which include tracks from artists such as Tom Odell, First Aid Kit, Mø and Alma.